Jabba wrote: Just thought I'd share. http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum11/2871.htm As the thread reads. I have definative proof that this crawler posted the links on this page. http://www.dfwforums.net/modules.php?name=Reviews&rop=showcontent&id=13 Convera whois http://www.whois.sc/63.241.61.8 While I have made contact with an admin for this crawler and he sounded genuinely interested about what may have caused this crawler to do this, I would still recommend blocking it. Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 3:31 pm
admin(Mark) wrote: Thanks for that useful information. I banned that IP although I think they probably use a dynamic IP. Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 6:46 am
Jabba wrote: Digging a little deeper into this issue it seems that their crawler was hijacked by http://www.whois.sc/213.184.241.21 which I found in my server logs. Their crawler was logged by Protector but the above IP was not. The server logs show Convera GET my robots.txt and then immediatley http://www.whois.sc/213.184.241.21 began to POST the links. Trojan or virus? Don't know but I do know these guys are new and they brought up the suggestion that they could have a malicious script embedded in the crawler code. Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:31 pm
| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||